Node Records Releases Jeff Beal’s Soundtrack to Theatrical Production Light Falls: Space, Time, and an Obsession of Einstein

LOS ANGELES (May 17, 2019) Node Records releases Jeff Beal’s original soundtrack to Brian Greene’s acclaimed theatrical production Light Falls: Space, Time, and an Obsession of Einstein through all digital platforms.

Jeff Beal is a five-time EMMY® award-winning composer, known for his genre-defying musical fluidity in film, television, and concert hall. His celebrated scores include House of Cards, Rome, Carnivale, An Inconvenient Sequel: Truth To Power, Blackfish, and Pollock.

Light Falls premieres nationwide on Wednesday, May 29th - the 100th anniversary to the day of Einstein’s Theory being confirmed through astronomical observations - at 10/9c on PBS (check local listings), and the PBS Video app. Produced by the World Science Festival and written by Brian Greene, the world-renowned string theorist and New York Times bestselling author, Light Falls follows Albert Einstein’s electrifying journey towards the General Theory of Relativity through state-of-the-art animation and innovative projection techniques.

Light Falls allows for the duality of humanity and science in Einstein’s life,” Jeff Beal explains. “The music strives to portray the elusive and startling truths of relativity; and the singular mind which recasts our understanding of the universe in the span of a few short years, 100 years ago.”  Beal further describes the score, “Musically, the solo violin that is featured represents the inner voice of Albert Einstein.  I chose the violin because Einstein, himself was a violinist and loved music.  The electronics I incorporated represent the driving nature of the scientific connection.  The whole theme of time throughout the film I tried to reflect in the score as in a race, the intellectual race to uncover theories and a sense of urgency of Einstein recognizing his own mortality.  The whole theme of clocks running at different speeds at the same time.  Some of the music represents this feeling by incorporating two different tempos performed at the same time.”

Track Listing

1. Light Falls Main Title 
2. April 17th 
3. The Compass 
4. Youthful Rebellion 
5. Synchronization Of Clocks 
6. The Patent Office 
7. Vintage Einstein 
8. See The Facts Clearly 
9. Space And Time 
10. Jewish Physics 
11. Round Two 
12. Newtonian Gravity Theory 
13. Faster Than Light 
14. Startling New Concept 
15. Light Falls  
16. Dancing Through Warped Space 
17. Astoundingly Beautiful 
18. Zurich Notebook 
19. Two Long Years 
20. The Race 
21. Forty-three Arc Seconds 
22. Thursday, November 18th 
23. Under Assault 
24. Theory Completed 
25. A Jewel 
26. Einstein's Fame 
27. After Dinner Music 
28. The Atomic Bomb 
29. Search For A Unified Theory 
30. Only An Illusion

Node Records
Node Records is a specialty boutique label committed to releasing and marketing music from groundbreaking artists and films. Based in Los Angeles and New York, Node is distributed by BFE / The Orchard. Recent releases include the Academy Award-winning documentary Free Solo, and the Academy Award-nominated film The Wife.  

World Science Festival
Hailed a “new cultural institution” by the New York Times, the World Science Festival produces innovative live, digital, and broadcast content that brings the latest discoveries and the greatest minds in science and the arts to audiences around the world. Through discussions and debates, intimate salons and major outdoor extravaganzas, theatrical works and musical productions, the Festival’s diverse, highly produced programming inspires and educates the public of all ages. World Science Festival’s original musical and theatrical works tour nationally and internationally, and this production marks the Festival’s first foray into nationwide live-theatrical television broadcasting.

Media Contact for Node Records: Brielle Schiavone -
Media Contact for Jeff Beal: Ray Costa – Costa Communications

Jason Burger